Everything I Had fit in this little bag

That’s it. Everything in that bag was what was inside my desk at work after cleaning it out.

With every end, a new beginning commences. That’s just the way the world works, its cyclical, inevitable, and one more thing we all have in common.

 

Today was my last day in the corporate world. It was my last day sitting in a cube behind a desk, looking out the window wishing I could be outside. It was my last day and it was difficult -because by nature, I’m not a quitter. I tried as long as I could to sustain it and to conform, but I just wasn’t happy. In fact, I was down right miserable, ungrateful, and not a nice person to be around. All I could think was “If these people REALLY knew me…”

and then I realized, instead of quitting my job- I had quit on myself. My light wasn’t shining, and it was nobody’s fault but my own. The only reason those people didn’t REALLY know me, was because I ALLOWED myself not to BE myself.

 

RE-freakin-diculous.

 

3 weeks ago I decided to take responsibility for that and I turned in my resignation. I had no direction, no idea what I was going to do. But I did know that unless I made myself completely uncomfortable, nothing was going to change. I wish I was one of those people that could lay out a wonderfully designed plan and follow it ( Kristen) 🙂 , but until this point, not likely. I’m a dreamer who was too scared to be a doer.

Until Now.

 

SO, I went through my day, feeling good about the changing of the guards. I had done everything I could.  I looked around, saw all the people I had come to know, and realized that all of this was a necessary step. I had to lose myself to find myself.

the icing on my cake was learning that even though I wasn’t who I wanted to be, I was still loved, just the way I was.

 

This entry was posted in Philisophical Musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

