Thanksgiving planning

Planning. A word that is until recently, Not in my vocabulary. I’m finding that although I love spontaneity, after all, (whats better than an unplanned rendezvous with friends)…
planning ain’t so bad either, especially when it comes to cooking.

I’m starting to see another side to this chef thing. An organized Chaos.

MISE EN PLACE

THAT is what I am learning to like-

With that being said, I should probably let you know I cooked the entire thanksgiving meal for my family this year. Start to finish, Alpha to Omega, and I did a little planning, not as much as I would have liked, but more than what I was used to. We have to start somewhere, right?

I followed our familial requirements, which meant untraditional. (It’s been a tough year for us, so we wanted something completely different, I was all for it.) Done- I can do untraditional.

My other goal was not to have so much excess! There is no need, nutritionally or

otherwise, to have 5 pies or 2 pans of stuffing leftover. Make enough to enjoy, but not so much that we enjoy for weeks to come-this is usually where the extra poundage comes in. Not this year my friends!

We had,

Roasted Turkey

Pomegranate and brown sugar glazed Ham

 

Smoked Oyster and Bacon Dressing

Fennel Apple Dressing (vegetarian)

Macaroni and Cheese (from Scratch- a cousins request)

Champagne braised Cabbage Gratin

Butternut squash and Leek Gratin

Mustard greens

Pear Almond Tart with Almond Frangiapane

and last but not least….

Pumpkin Pie! (I did not make this, one of my bakers did ):)

 

Some Men I'm Proud to call Family

 

 

Still have to work that organization thing though. I’ve got the chaos down pat.

This entry was posted in Fall, Recipes, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

