soo….I guess I’m a cook now?

I realized this the other night as I was out with some friends. I’ve been avoiding that entire aspect of a social scene for quite some time now, and somehow, the question surfaced

“So, what do you do?”

Me-“Well, I cook. I mean, I’m a cook.”

Luckily, the initiator was libated enough not to notice my stutter, or my complete shock that those words came out of my mouth. With a smile.

Burnt hands, Burnt arms, no nails, cuts all over, totally unappealing, unflattering uniform, following directions and not asking questions that have anything to do with your own opinion. I guess this means I’m a cook.

And I love it.

I’m so glad that I made this decision for myself. I’m so happy I decided to live out my dream. I just hope that I can live it to the fullest and not let fear  take the driver seat.
Do I necessarily love french food? No. Don’t get me wrong. Its good- sometimes life altering good. However, I don’t feel all my food needs to be sauced with butter, cream or some derivative of the two. But I love a French Kitchen. It is disciplined. It is regimented. It will teach me to be these things out of necessity, and by virtue, I will become a better cook, and hopefully chef.

I can’t wait for the day when my response is

“Well, I’m a chef.”

 

 

 

(I’m well aware what a blanket statement that is regarding French cuisine, that there is much more to it than my oversimplification, but not in my current kitchen.)

This entry was posted in Philisophical Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

