Buona Fortuna Greens (and other good things)

Peace out 2010. Adios, vai com deus,  word to your motha, deuces. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out. It is no secret, 2o1o, that you tried me hard.

I’m ready for your nicer, hotter, more experienced older brother- 2011.

I’m hoping he’s a gentleman, that he’ll hold the door for me, that he’ll help me put on my coat and that he will buy me some jewelry (or at least really nice knives). But you know what? If your older bro 2011 is just as much as a jerk as you were, I’ll be okay. Grateful though I am for ALL my experiences, I would be a fool to not admit that this year has been, at the very least, a challenge.

Thank you for this!

I do have to thank you,2010, for giving me the chance to really learn to depend on my family and friends. I had no idea the support system that was available to me. Thank you for letting me learn the merits of each of these individuals, and to remember why they are so important in my life-

Thank you for this

So with that being said, I’d like to invite you over for some dinner, 2011. A little something to get to know you by. Nothing fancy, something casual, but with food that will fill your soul. If you want to bring a nice bottle of wine, I won’t argue. After all, Mama always said never show up to someones house empty handed, and we wouldn’t want to get off on the wrong foot, now would we 🙂

Buona Fortuna Greens, Black-eyed Peas, and Blue Corn Cheddar-Cornbread.

In the south, (which is where I currently am) the traditional New Years Menu Consists of Greens (for money) cornbread (for the sweet life) and Black Eyed Peas (for prosperity- I guess that would mean money as well.) I am a sucker for some traditions, and this meal is one that I won’t be giving up easily.

Buona Fortuna Greens (note-I like to mix my techniques for cooking greens. I chop them very fine, in the Brasilian style I’ve been taught, but I flavor them so that they mimic the flavor of the slow braised greens that are typically cooked with pork.  I like my greens to have a little bite.

  • 1.5 pounds of Greens (mustard, collard,Kale, even cabbage would do)
  • 1/4 cup of GOOD apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp hot pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • Garlic

Shred FINELY ( i can not stress the importance of this) your greens. Chiffonade them if possible, this is how I get them so fine.

heat up your large stock pot with olive oil. add the pepper flakes and sugar and let dissolve. Then add the greens to the pot, and over medium High heat, sautee greens until they begin to wilt a little. Add vinegar, and then garlic. continue to sautee for about 10 minutes until the greens Just start to give. pull off the heat immediately. Your Buona Fortuna Greens are ready to serve!

Next- Black Eyed Peas and Blue Corn Cheddar Cornbread!

Be well, my friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

