Socca Hoecakes

I’m OUT of food at mi casa, and haven’t had time to shop (or the energy) with my crazy schedule.

BUT- I have some simple staples that have managed to get me through.  These Hoecakes were born of necessity, but keep getting made because they are Delicious! Nutritious- VEGAN! and they take 5 minutes.
No excuses folks.
Wish I could have the same attitude for my workouts.

Socca is a chickpea bread/pancake that is usually chickpea flour and water. A Hoecake is a cornmeal based griddle cake hailing from the south. I wanted something a bit more substantial to get me through the mornings at the kitchen. I’m lucky if I get another meal in before 6 PM. This has done the trick! I top mine with a poached egg and mustard, or goat cheese, or even nutritional yeast (sounds weird, but its delicious. Buy some today).

I usually just eyeball the batter, as in most griddle cake batters, you want it thick enough so that you can spoon it, but not so thick that it isn’t smooth or doesn’t spread when you put it on the pan.

Yield- 5 or 6 Socca Hoecakes

1Cup Chickpea flour

1 cup Cornmeal mix(or cornbread mix)

Scant 1/4 cup of liquid  (I use almond milk with a touch of vinegar, it resembles a buttermilk flavor.)

2 chia eggs* ( you could sub 1 egg here. I add chia because I need the extra fat, but don’t want extra cholesterol and I’m going to be eating eggs with my meal)

Salt, pepper

Mix dry ingredients, add liquid and stir. Add chia eggs, and stir. If mixture seems dry, add more liquid 1 tablespoon at a time until it thins out to desired consistency.

Heat griddle on medium heat. Add oil and spoon 1 heaping tablespoon of mixture in pan. Cook for a few minutes, or until you see bubbles start to pop through the middle of the hoecake. Flip the Hoecake. Now, finish the batch, and enjoy!

High Protien, High Fiber, and Uber easy! Give it a shot!

* A note about Chia seeds, I love them. They are super healthful, nourishing, and you can get more facts HERE– (and all over the web frankly).

All you do to get a chia egg is mix 1 tsp of chia seeds with 1.5 tbsp water. Stir and set aside for about five minutes. The chia will gel and act as the binder where you would traditionally use an egg.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

